Jamie Hosegood, graduating this year from MA Fine Art at CSM, has been selected as the first recipient of the Helen Scott Lidgett Studio Award. This award, a partnership initiative between Acme Studios and CSM, is funded by Acme and The Helen Scott Lidgett Fund.

The standard of applications was extremely high, and four shortlisted CSM students, two from MA Fine Art, one from MA Photography and one from MA Art & Science, met with the selection panel at their final shows at CSM, before Jamie was chosen as the recipient of this inaugural award.

Helen Scott Lidgett - resized
Helen Scott Lidgett

The Helen Scott Lidgett Studio Award is for graduates of MA Fine Art, MA Art and Science and MA Photography at CSM. Helen Scott Lidgett was a Fine Art graduate and UAL alumna (CSM, 1971) and continued to be an energetic advocate for the arts both in her working and private life, particularly in her role as a Governor of UAL. A renowned arts PR and marketing professional, Helen co-founded Brunswick Arts in 2001 following a distinguished career in companies including Hobsbawm Macaulay Communications and Thames & Hudson.

Following Helen’s memorial at CSM last year, The Helen Scott Lidgett Fund has been created by a committee of Helen’s friends and family, in conjunction with UAL, in order to raise funds to support talented artists, both while they study at CSM, and on graduating from the college. The first year of the Fund sees the creation of the Helen Scott Lidgett Studio Award, which continues Helen’s legacy by awarding a recent MA graduate a rent-free studio for 12 months, together with a bursary of £5,000, and the opportunity to access curators, other professional artists and networking opportunities. The award will also provide mentoring by members of the Helen Scott Lidgett Fund committee to the selected graduate, along with all the CSM students who applied for the award.

This award is part of Acme Studios’ Residency & Awards Programme, which believes that providing artists with time and space is fundamental to their development. These new awards complement Acme’s existing awards for graduates located at their Childers Street studios in Deptford, SE8: the Adrian Carruthers Award, the Camberwell Studio Award, the Chadwell Award and the Chelsea Studio Award.